You are currently viewing House Financial Services Landscape Takes Shape

Chairman of the House Financial Services Committee, Patrick McHenry, announced the new Committee members for the 118th Congress.

IBAT was especially pleased to see several members from the Texas delegation serving on the committee, including Pete Sessions, Roger Williams, Lance Gooden and freshman Congresswoman Monica De La Cruz on the Republican side of the dais. We are awaiting the Democrat appointments, but anticipate the appointments of those currently serving – Representatives Sylvia Garcia, Vicente Gonzalez and Al Green.

Representative Andy Barr of Kentucky will lead the Financial Institutions Subcommittee, which has jurisdiction over bank regulation and now monetary policy.

Chairman McHenry displayed his priority for financial technology issues by announcing plans to establish a new subcommittee dedicated to cryptocurrency. The Subcommittee on Digital Assets, Financial Technology and Inclusion will be chaired by Representative French Hill of Arkansas.

Texas Republicans were placed in several other positions of leadership for the current Congress. Representative Roger Williams was tapped to Chair the House Small Business Committee; Jodey Arrington will serve as Chair of the House Budget Committee; Kay Granger will be in the center chair of the Appropriations Committee; and Michael McCaul will Chair the Foreign Affairs Committee. Congratulations to all of these supporters of community banking and dedicated public servants.